Getting real about issues and where to fight and where not to

September 17, 2010 at 3:24 pm (Uncategorized)

This post will get me the most criticism of all. But for that, I could care less. First, I should remind you that I’m an antitheist, a paleoliberal, and I care. Oh, do I care. But, there is a fine line between genius and insanity, and for that I must confess that I care less than I use to. Doused with a dose of reality this summer, and seeing how far I’ve come and where to go in the future, politically speaking, the following list is where the paleoliberal in me stands:

Abortion: If it’ll save the woman’s life, I’m all for it, otherwise abortion is a personal choice and is protected by the 4th Amendment. Therefore, there is no need for me, a male, to get involved in the debate.
Death Penalty: If the punishment fits the crime, I’m for it. Otherwise, recidivism doesn’t decrease as a result from another’s execution.
Economy: A market system in which government regulates the economy is best. Government must protect citizens from the greed of big business. Unlike the private sector, the government is motivated by public interest. Government regulation in all areas of the economy is needed to level the playing field. However, too much government leads to the command system. That is completely undesirable.
Education: It must always be free.
Science: Yes to evolution, stem cell research, and real science in general. No to pseudoscience like creationism.
Euthanasia: If the person wants it, let it happen.
Global Warming: It’s real. Duh.
Gun control: It’s protected by the 2nd Amendment.
Health Care: Controversial. I’m all for free health care for lower-income families.
Homeland Security: As long as it doesn’t cripple our freedoms, I’m for it. Obviously the Patriot Act is unconstitutional.
Religion and government: There’s a separation of church and state, despite what the idiots think.
Same-sex marriage: I’m for it, but don’t ask me to support it publically. I’ve got better things to do than win someone else’s war.
Taxes: Let’s raise tarrifs because our economy would be better with them. The rich can afford it.
War: Not for it, but happily support our troops.
Welfare: Not for long-term because that makes the poor lazy and dependent on government to help them in all areas which aren’t necessary for survival.

Leave a Reply

