What I have learned from debates over religion

December 7, 2009 at 2:28 pm (agnosticism)

I have learned that I have more respect for the Christian apologist, than the ignorant agnostic. For the Christian apologist seems to actually care where the world is headed, and will take up defense for that care. For this, Christian apologists and anti-theists, such as myself, have something in common. We both have the right to call the other person ignorant, and should do so whenever possible. However, I have noticed that there is a growing sense of arrogance within myself, not one to be exempt from criticism either. However, on the other hand, I am continuously attempting to better my techniques, and exhausting my anger has been the easiest thing to do. I no longer get angry during debates, knowing that I have already won them. The growing sense of boredom with my anti-theism is getting the best of me as I continue my advocacy. I still enjoy fighting for freedom, but there’s only so long that you can do so, while enjoying the benefits. Because I have reached a sense of enlightenment, and because I know that I’m at my peak level of nihilism, the sense of challenge has been lost to me. Yes, I realize that there is a world of ignorance out there, but because of the shelter I put myself through, that is, spacing myself from such ignorance, I realize that the fun of challenge is gone. And yes, I continue to research all that I can to debunk the Christian faith, it continues to mean nothing to me. Debates have been boring at best, and frustrating at worst. The debate with the agnostic is least entertaining because I’m truly arguing with one who does not accept any sense of logic. Or at least, selects which arguments to live by. This is the definition of ignorance. While the arrogant agnostic may be the least open-minded, the Christian apologist is the second, refusing to adhere to the scientific method.

Some of my friends are Christian apologists, and these are Evan Mitchum, Jared Powell, and Benjamin Bryant (who has for an unknown reason defriended me on Facebook, perhaps because I criticized a little too far, but that’s the price you pay). I have the deepest respect for them, because they know how to debate. They may not use the most up-to-date science in their debates, but at least they’re true to their faith.

Leave a Reply

