ABC is right to cancel Adam Lambert’s Wednesday’s morning concert

November 24, 2009 at 10:05 pm (homosexuality)

I have a feeling I’m going to get canned for saying this, but I feel it needs to be said. Lambert recently was on the 8th season of American Idol finishing runner-up. I don’t watch American Idol, so I wouldn’t have any interest in the matter, if it weren’t for the recent hullabaloo over his upcoming concert cancellation. Despite the complaints which I no doubt bet were mostly homophobic in tone, I take the position that it’s not the male-male kissing that I care about. The shocking same-sex kiss has been done over and over (for example, http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2003/…in571865.shtml). It’s time to stop with the shock, and go for the real.

But I’m not even focused on that. What I do care about is the crotch-grabbing. Really? In front of thousands of viewers? No, that’s unacceptable. And to top it off, there was a face-to-crotch moment. Ugh. No, that’s unacceptable for television (or anywhere public for that matter). It’s immature, and does nothing to help promote/expose the LGBT community in a good light. With Madonna and Britney Spears (see link above), it was just for shock value, no push of an agenda. Not to say that this was any push of an agenda, but it certainly seems so. Until the LGBT community can be shown in a positive light on national television, this needs to stop.

Leave a Reply

