Biblical mythical creatures (part 5): The rest of the other gods of the Bible (N-T)

July 1, 2009 at 6:03 pm (biblical mythical creatures)

Concluding from part 4:

  • Nebo: Assyrian/Babylonian/Chaldean god of wisdom and writing, also called Nabu (Isaiah 46:1).
  • Nergal: Cuth/Assyrian/Babylonian war and underworld god, also called Meshlamthea (2 Kings 17:30).
  • Nibhaz: Avites god (2 Kings 17:31).
  • Nisroch: Assyrian god (2 Kings 19:37).
  • Rimmon: Babylonian/Syrian storm god involved (as Ramman) with the Deluge, according to Hebrew texts; also known as Ramman/Rammon (2 Kings 5:18).
  • Succoth-benoth: Babylonian fertility goddess (“She Who Produces Seed”), also known as Zarpanitu/Zerpanitum (2 Kings 17:30).
  • Tammuz: Assyrian/Babylonian god (Ezekiel 8:14).
  • Tartak: Avites god (2 Kings 17:31).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: