Atheism as a religion?

February 8, 2008 at 4:18 pm (Uncategorized)

I was talking to my Civ teacher today, asking about his religion class. Apparently it will be available this summer, so that’s kind of awesome. But he was saying that he also teaches atheism. I told him that it didn’t need to be taught because it’s not a religion. He says that according to him, it was preached and forced upon people over in either (I couldn’t quite distinct between the two) Soviet Russia or Russia. The only thing that I could think of is that he is not preaching the history of atheism, but perhaps rather the history of anti-theism. There is a difference. Atheism is simply apathy towards a theistic belief, but still a declaration of what your stance on the matter is. Anti-theism is strong atheism, in other words, a belief that religion should be wiped out.

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    what is an atheist funeral like? i mean since there isn’t any religion stuff behind it, is it held at a church. or the just put the body in the ground and leave….another thing… what is a atheist wedding like?

  2. cw1925 said,

    Sorry, I didn’t see this coment until now. I don’t know, as I’ve never been to an atheist wedding. I suppose it’s like a Christian wedding, taken in a church and stuff. I really don’t know.

  3. stillhere4u said,

    Atheism may well be spurred on by the refusal of religions to engage in self-criticism. I’ve just read http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/263/ on how foreign self-criticism is to religion, and, moreover, how religion misunderstands itself. You might be interested in it.

    • cw1925 said,

      Yeah, that’s pretty much what I ultimately think atheism is. Just a seeking of yourself, and self-improvement.

Leave a Reply

