Religion is slavery

January 14, 2008 at 6:56 am (Uncategorized)

I’ve been wanting to do this for a long time, and so finally decided to stop putting it off. There’s no easy way of saying this, and to those who are offended, oh well. You will have to learn sooner or later that us atheists are not suffering from the same delusional disorder that you are. That’s right, you have a delusional disorder. If you have a working relationship with a fairy tale god in the sky, if you honestly think that the events in the Bible are true, if you think that the world was created in 6 days and then man was created for the sole purpose to serve that god and to blindly go about his day not questioning a damn thing about who he is, then you are suffering from a delusional disorder.
Yesterday, I interacted with a Christian lady who seemed so deluded, I really don’t know what will convince her. Keep in mind that this is the same Christian lady I mentioned in earlier posts. She said that the book that I gave her didn’t cite its sources. She said that the information that a normal, rational thinking person given was “just his opinion”. So, common sense to a higher-level thinking person is just someone’s opinion? Keep in mind as well, that she is in college, a year above me, and she’s saying that his take on how the story in Genesis involving Noah’s ark was bullshit was just his opinion. As if that wasn’t enough, when she started to talk about his chapter “Serve God or Burn in Hell”, which I doubt she even read, she went off on this tangent about how Revelations will happen, and that there were already signs of his coming. She said that the fact that the Euro was being implemented throughout Europe as a multinational currency was a sign of the coming of Christ. She also tried to say that the fact that global warming (caused by humans|mirror of .pdf article) is happening means that the coming of Christ is close.
I’m sorry, but what a load of bull-fucking shit. I also put my copy of some apocalyptic book explaining all the apocalyptic prophecies throughout history (forgot what it’s called as I’m not writing this in my room right now) on the table when she walked in my room, just to tease her. I can’t believe half the shit that comes out of her mouth. And she says it without even flinching. She invited me to go with her to “The Net”, a weekly church service. First of all, the music was atrociously boring. Seriously now, how can people say they like that shit? It’s utterly revolting. But I was respectful, I stood the entire time, not to say that I sang along with them, or actually nodded my head in approval, as the entire flock of sheep did. It was a boring hour and a half, but I respectfully made through it. I did it to appease her, not for myself. I said “yeah, this will go down as another cultural experience”. Also, I should say that me and the guy who drove us (her boyfriend, why, oh why?) had a pretty humorous conversation about the Catholics. It’s sad to me that Baptists can make fun of Muslims and Catholics and everyone else, yet get so defensive when us atheists do the same. This couple is eating this bullshit up and choking on their own hypocrisy. Yet, I say nothing in fear that I will lose a few friends.
I feel bad for Christians, I really do. But I feel even worse for those few atheists that have to hold their truthfulness tongue just to save a few friendships.
On a side note, I noticed how the preacher, or whatever you will call him, made a snide remark on how one of the members of Green Day described the state of religion, but then later admitted he didn’t read any of the Bible. I wonder if he (the preacher) has read the Bible? Seriously, have you seen the shit that is in there?
I say fuck religion. It does nothing but disturb the peace and teach lies to our children, our families, and most importantly our friends. Why people don’t see through the fog of lies is beyond me. I’ve honestly never met anyone my age that believes the Bible was truth more than this girl. And I’m pretty sure that this will not be the first.

2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    instead of criticizing religion, why don’t you see it for some of the good things they promote. for example, peace! when you go and criticize the physical aspects of the bible you forget what it’s trying to teach. love our enemies. don’t seek revenge. if you spend all of your life trying to prove something wrong instead of trying to view the good points of religion. of course all religion sound somewhat fictional and the bible is a library of books, the majority of the books are people accounts of what happened. for example say a crime happened and the police asked people what happened, sure enough there are going to be differences in there story. also think about what the early bible writers had to appeal to. there was no TV or other things so of course they said some “tall tales” but does that have to mean that religion is a bad as you say it is. honestly, almost all of the laws in America and based from the Bible and our nation was founded upon religion mostly for it morale values. if you claim no religion and try to live a good life well, how would you know how to live a good life. or do you not live a good life and you commit crimes all the time. you cannot tell me that you were just born not to commit crime. someone had to teach you what was right and what was wrong and the whole thing about right and wrong is not because of humans reasoning but because of religion. thank you for reading my comment and please stop making harmful comments against us Christians. if you think that religion sucks, keep it to yourself. also please don’t try to “covert” people to atheism. atheism isn’t a religion, it is one own personal view. to try to “convert” people is basically trying to strip one’s moral values which in the long run will lead to more hate, crime and violence. good day

  2. cw1925 said,

    1. Atheism in fact does promotes peace. By educating people their historical backgrounds, we find unity in ourselves. For those not interested in history, it shows a lack of sheer will to know the truth of their own religion.2. Not every religion has the same notion of peace. Look at Islam, my absolute least favorite religion. Their criminal justice system resembles that of the dark ages. Beheading woman 3. I’m a pro-humanist. Religion does not promote equal rights for women (http://www.buffalobeast.com/121/godhateswomen.htm), therefore, I disagree with the notion that religion promotes peace.4. I do “love my enemy”. And in doing so, I’m attempting to educate her the truth about Christianity. There is nothing evil in education, is there? And if you think there is, you represent all that is fowl in the world.5. I’m not seeking revenge. She has done absolutely nothing to me, why would I want to seek revenge?6. “if you spend all of your life trying to prove something wrong instead of trying to view the good points of religion. of course all religion sound somewhat fictional and the bible is a library of books, the majority of the books are people accounts of what happened. for example say a crime happened and the police asked people what happened, sure enough there are going to be differences in there story.”Response: That’s the problem. People try to cleanse the Bible and try to make it something its not. Today’s church services are so watered down, mostly because it’s easier to get people to believe these watered down versions of Christianity, that the history of what people have done in the past is completely ignored in the church. Back then, in the Dark Ages, people actually believed that there were unicorns, 12-headed dragons, and that the apocalypse was actually coming. That’s the effect that the church can have on you. It’s all apart of that delusional disorder I pointed out. Also, that’s a terrible example, because say that was the case, then that means the Bible is in fact not God’s infallible word, and it is in fact man’s *interpretation* of how things went back then. Which is what atheists already believe.7. “there was no TV or other things so of course they said some ‘tall tales’ but does that have to mean that religion is a bad as you say it is.”Response: Wait, what? You actually agree that the Bible is fictional? The Bible is the key to Christianity, the Koran is the key to Islam, etc. If you agree that these are nothing more than fictional pieces of literature, then you really are a fool.8. “honestly, almost all of the laws in America and based from the Bible and our nation was founded upon religion mostly for it morale values.”Response: And all 10 (18? 26?) Commandments were based off of Hammurabi’s Code. Do you not know your history sir (ma’am)? And we see how vicious and sexist the laws were in Hammurabi’s time, don’t we?9. “if you claim no religion and try to live a good life well, how would you know how to live a good life. or do you not live a good life and you commit crimes all the time. you cannot tell me that you were just born not to commit crime. someone had to teach you what was right and what was wrong and the whole thing about right and wrong is not because of humans reasoning but because of religion.”Response: My mother taught me well. I may not completely agree with her 30th century BCE rhetoric sometimes, but the fundamental principles that all Americans are taught are good enough for me. And, they’ve kept me out of trouble.10. “to try to “convert” people is basically trying to strip one’s moral values which in the long run will lead to more hate, crime and violence.”Response: No, it isn’t. And, I’m not attempting to convert her at all. I’m simply lending her the book. If she wants to read it, she’ll read it. If not, no one is putting a gun to her head. Besides, atheism is something that cannot happen overnight. You have to want it for yourself.11. This is my blog, I’ll post what I want, when I want, and how I want. Don’t like the criticism, don’t read it. Listen, I don’t know you, and it’s probably a good thing that I don’t. I’ve most likely offended you, but you know, it’s like Richard Dawkins says, any theory that has its flaws needs to be challenged and replaced by something that has more sufficient evidence. You cannot prove nor disprove God, or any other god out there. So why even bother going any further than that. One day social Darwinism will have its way, and the geek shall inherit the earth.12. Good day, and may your god bless you however you feel he shall bless you.

Leave a Reply

